This is depressing. I go over to Geoffrey’s place to answer his challenge. I read the freakin’ Greenwald piece (gag) and compose a thoughtful and insightful response, only to inadvertently delete it. I hate when that happens. So now I have to do it all over again.

Later.

For now, just to have something to post, I’ve decided to talk about the books I’m reading.

To begin, I had four books going at one time; not a usual situation for me. When we vacationed in Charleston, I took Moby Dick and found it a bit of a slog. As if it would help, I also had The Federalist on hand. That takes a bit of work. We had gone to Patriot’s Point to check out the USS Yorktown and arrange a Ft. Sumter visit and whilst checking out the large gift shop there, I was checking out the book aisle. A gentleman hands one to me saying, “This is the only book you need to buy.” His name was Dr. Art Schmitt and the book was his. A War With No Name-Post Traumatic Stress Disorder-A Survivor’s Story told his tale of his three tours of Viet Nam very early in the conflict and his subsequent dealings with his PTSD. Here’s how this chopper pilot dealt with it: he became a doctor of psychology. He seemed a real nice guy, signed my book, asked how I wanted him to sign it. I felt awkward in his presence and let him know his signature was more than enough for me. I had done a quick scan of the book whilst waiting in checkout and was immediately humbled. He signed it when I went back to him to let him know I did indeed buy it.

So Schmitt’s book put Moby and Hamilton (et al) on hold until I got home. Started reading Melville again and what came in the mail, but Newt’s book, Real Change. I highly recommend this book. Newt lays out excellent ideas for turning our country around that I haven’t heard from either party. His American Solutions web site discusses the ideas as well.

So I still have Moby and the Fed to finish, though the Fed might take awhile. But then I recall that on the shelf I have Ed Meese’s book on Reagan, and a neighbor gave me a copy of The Hunchback of Notre Dame and just this past weekend, a friend left a copy of Skydog-The Duane Allman Story by Randy Poe. As if that wasn’t enough, I take the daughter to Barnes & Noble and her book of choice was not available, but I find a buy two get one free selection of John Adams by David McCullough (which I had wanted), Benjamin Franklin-An American Life by Walter Isaacson, and The Language of God by Dr. Franci S. Collins, head of the Human Genome Project, who I believe I heard interviewed on Michael Medved’s show. I’ll be busy for a while. What are YOU reading?

Oops! Almost forgot. I never made it to The Last of The Mohicans, either.

