In my church, the paper on which we print our weekly bulletins for worship service comes from the UCC with preprinted messages on the back. For the week of Feb. 15, the message was on race. Apparently, last April, the UCC called for a “sacred conversation on race—‘a dialogue that is neded in our pews, our homes and the hallways of power across our country.'” Personally, I’m a bit bored with the subject as I don’t suffer from racist tendencies and have little patience for those who do, and, I don’t understand how a “sacred” conversation would be manifestly any different from the standard conversation.

But I digress.

It goes on to speak of quotes by such famous people as Frederick Douglass and W.E.B. Du Bois (I wonder if his friends called him “Web”.) and then some mention of “Racial Justice Sunday”, without mentioning which Sunday that would be. Was it the 15th? I have no idea.

Anyway, the whole idea, as I said, bores me. I don’t really care about race. I don’t know very many people who are truly racist, and I’m fairly certain that no one I consider a close friend is racist, either. Yet, the word still gets thrown around, as it was during the last presidential campaign, mostly by the half-black guy. In any case, it was quite a coincidence to come across this Jack Kerwick article in Intellectual Conservative Politics and Philosophy (www.intellectualconservative.com).

As a side note, I have two small oval “Nobama” stickers on my bumper from the campaign. I had intended on getting a “Vote McCain–He’s Less Crappy” sticker to paste inbetween them. But as I came up to an intersection the other day when our Chicago area weather was unseasonably warm, and my car window was down, I heard a woman’s voice sing out “OH–BAMA!” as a car pulled up next to me in the left lane. Not being in a great mood, I turned a relatively surly look at the source and the black couple next to me were glaring back. I sensed some racial tension from these two who didn’t appear to be anymore cheerful than I was feeling. Had the light not changed and had they not driven off so quickly, I would have liked to enquire as to their reasons for supporting the guy. Oh well. An opportunity for racial harmony lost.

