First off, I didn’t see any of the films nominated for an Oscar, nor the films of the Best Actor category. A quick Google scan checking the odds shows most were picking Mickey Rourke for best actor, with Sean Penn the runner up. But I figured that any movie sympathetic to the homosexual cause would not go unrewarded by the Hollywood elite, and sure enough, Penn takes Best Actor. Fine. I think Penn is a really good actor, and I would even call him great. (Kudos to Deniro for his quip about Penn—he said he can’t believe he got all those other parts playing straight guys—or words to that effect.) So congrats to Sean Penn.

However, I don’t think we needed the lecture during his acceptance speech. Aren’t they supposed to avoid such things? He thinks it is to the everlasting shame of folks like myself who oppose homosexual marriage, and that somehow my grandchildren will feel shame for me. Well, I don’t have grandchildren yet, but I hope they will have the basic understanding of God’s Will to know that there’s nothing shameful in standing up for His Will and working to thwart the efforts of some to enable and sanction bad behavior. I certainly don’t feel shame for doing so.

I do feel pity and sorrow, though. I feel pity and sorrow for all those people who are so twisted in their thinking and beliefs that their devotion to sexual gratification has provoked in them. The applause generated by Penn’s comments would make this post equally apropriate for American Descent in that so many there would so eagerly support such comments. May God grant them the epiphany they so desperately need, by His Will and in Christ I pray. I fear, though, that He has given them over to their lusts. Pity and sorrow.

UPDATE: From this morning’s paper on last night’s awards show comes this speech from “Milk” director, Dustin Lance Black: “If Harvey had not been taken from us 30 years ago, I think he would want me to say to all the gay and lesbian kids out there tonight who have been told they are less than(sic)by the churches, by the government, by their families, that you are beautiful, wonderful creatures of value, and that no matter what anyone tells you, God does love you and that very soon, I promise you, you will have equal rights, federally, across this great nation of ours.”

Wow. That isn’t quite as goofy as the teary Tom Hanks speech for accepting his award several years ago, the one about angels in heaven, but it comes close. Of course God loves the “gay and lesbian” kids. He also loves the gang-bangers and drug dealers. Not sure if all of them will see paradise without first repenting and walking the straight and narrow (pun intended). Black does confused kids no service with his wacky pronouncement, making a promise he isn’t equipped to see through, and dishonestly suggesting that they lack equal rights now.

