I just couldn’t leave town without drawing attention to this. From an email newsletter I get from the National Organization for Marriage comes this little tid-bit:

“On the other hand, there are people like Sarah Schulman, an English professor at New York’s City University, with a very different view. She has written a new book, Ties that Bind, that pushes a new next step in the gay-marriage agenda: “Homophobia should be identified as a sickness, with families court-ordered into treatment programs.” How did I hear about such a wacky idea? In an Oct. 14 column published by the perfectly respectable publication Inside Higher Ed. The author, Scott McLemee (whose summary of Sarah’s thought I am quoting), believes in the “new civil rights movement.” He doesn’t go so far as Sarah and say that government should be used to force dissenters into therapy, though. His solution to persistent disagreement with gay marriage? “Traumatize ’em right back!”

Wow. Are these now the choices in so-called respectable so-called civil rights circles? Either forced therapeutic re-education by government or else cultural traumatization and marginalization of people who disagree? Nice movement you have there, guys.

I know that many, many gay-marriage advocates don’t think this way. But this is a top-down movement driven by leaders who have seldom been very honest with the American people about what their ultimate aims are: to use the law to reshape the culture so that decent, loving, honorable, peaceful people who believe that marriage means a husband and wife get traumatized as bigots.”

Can you believe it? These are people who get the vapors at the thought of hearing someone use the abbreviation “homo” or “mo” and WE need treatment? The only area where I need help is in dealing with the fact that our society has gotten this goofy, that normal is considered abnormal and this clearly psychologically twisted condition is considered just fine. I’m goofy for thinking it odd that a man would want to be penetrated. I’m goofy for refusing to just accept that because such people exist that I have to, well, accept them.

Well, I’m not for having them gathered together for mass execution by any means. But I refuse to feel ashamed for recognizing the obvious, nor will I stand for anyone trying to force that feeling upon me. There is no sickness in me for my position on the issue, nor is there any need for correction. Further, I will no longer waste keystrokes just to spare them or their enablers any distress over reading “homosex”, “homo” or “mo” instead of “homosexual”. Nor will I encourage them by agreeing to THEIR definitions in the using of words like “gay”. It would be like worrying over the feelings of rapists or child molesters, or even thieves and liars.

The other day I had just caught the end of an HBO documentary that was obviously in support of the homosex agenda. In it, one guy said how much better it would be for all homosexuals if those still in the closet would come out. I guess he assumed that all homosexuals are indeed happy to be so, that none of them are ashamed of their unnatural urges and would prefer not to have them. “Hey! Be proud of your perversion and join us so that we can get what we want!”

I always considered the whole thing to be selfishness, this drive to be considered the new civil rights struggle. They don’t care about the long term affects of such a social change. They don’t care about the concerns of their opposition. All they care about is to be the sick bastards they are and to force us to be cool with it. That’ll be the day.

