Like many people these days, I have a Facebook presence. I never understood the point, but one of the lefties who never comment here anymore, one of my faves by the name of “Les” emailed me asking if I had one. Eventually I got one and I found one good reason (possibly the only one worth the effort) of having anything to do with FB and that was to try and contact old friends. It worked. I’ve been able to contact quite a few, including one I haven’t seen in about thirty years.

Another I haven’t seen in awhile is a regular poster and presented the final few minutes of one of the worst Steven Segal movies ever, called “On Deadly Ground”. Absolutely horrible, except for the cool fight scenes.

Anyway, my friend posts the end of the movie which is an overwrought environmentalist pleading, not much different than your basic AlGore drivel. It shows those weepy shots of oil-covered animals and like most such calls for action, assume we can just drop oil consumption and switch to wind, solar, electric cars and fairy dust, and do it *SNAP!* just like that! Needless to say, I posted as somewhat snarky comment, mostly regarding the quality of the movie, but some directed at this part of it.

WELL! My buddy was none too pleased and launched into a raving chastisement which included knocking me out if we were close enough for him to do so (it’s possible—we used to be martial arts students together). I asked him, “Why the hate, dude?” and he replied that I don’t know a damned thing and that the Gulf is now just so F’d that I have no idea! There was talk about greedy oil people and such, I defended against such childish claims, he called me other names and suggested I don’t know what I’m talking about.

This led to him sending me, upon my request, a sizable list of videos to watch (in order educate myself on things beyond my ability to fathom), some of which I’ve been able to watch and the rest still on tap. I haven’t viewed enough for a report on the lot of them, but of the few I’ve seen some good ideas and also some conspiracy stories (hapless inventors oppressed by the man).

But I digress.

Getting back to the Gulf, I’ve read in this morning’s paper a story from the Washington Post regarding a missing 4 million barrels of oil that spewed from the BP well. Here’s some of what “experts” are saying:

“On Wednesday, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration chief Jane Lubchenco said the oil is now much less visible on the surface and present only in microscopic, dilute droplets further down. She said that was a sign that the Gulf ecosystem is resilient and processing the hydrocarbons.

But she said that ‘doesn’t mean the situation is benign because it is not.’

‘There’s so much noise out there now saying the Gulf is dead or the Gulf will come back easily,’ Lubchenco said. ‘The truth is in the middle.'”

That sounds reasonable. In fact, it’s kinda what I was saying myself, or at least I was speaking in that tone as regards the hyperbolic nature of the Segal movie and my buddy’s rants. Here’s more:

“The best-case scenario is that much of this amount has been eaten by the Gulf’s natural stock of oil-munching microbes.”

It goes on to say that some scientists think these microbes, which I believe I’ve mentioned to my friend, might cause problems of their own, depleting oxygen that sea creatures need, but that no oxygen-free dead zones have been detected thus far. Ed Overton, a professor at LSU, believes the microbes, helped by the summer heat (Hurray for global warming!) was helping. In fact, he believes we’re “well, well over the hump” and that the environment is in the recovery stage.

Already? I thought we had a “fragile earth”!

All seriousness aside, it’s still not a joking matter. The condition, as Lubchenco said, is still a matter of great concern. The effects could last for quite some time and will likely be monitored for years to come.

But what this article points out is that nature can indeed handle quite a bit. It always has and likely always will. It’s bigger than mankind and I personally doubt that we could destroy it without an intense and concerted effort on everyone’s part, worldwide. That’s not to say that we shouldn’t play cleanly as we continue moving forward with technological developments. Of course we should. But the political games have to stop. This event is being played for the benefit of economically damaging political policy proposals, like cap and trade. We can’t allow that to continue because the fact is that the condition of the earth isn’t going to matter to people without jobs. And the fact is that we need oil still, (as well as coal and nuclear) because there hasn’t been any really practical alternatives ready to step in and take over without breaking the bank. What’s more, if we finally can drive decent cars that don’t look like crap as well as don’t need gas and oil, we’d still have over four thousand other products for which we need oil to produce.

UPDATE: I just read and article by Jonah Goldberg, someone that makes lib heads explode with his smarts, that actually could have been used for its own post, but contains more info regarding the actual measure of the Gulf disaster. And as he points out, despite the over-hyped nature of the environmental laments, it is still a disaster. It’s just not as bad as everyone of the environmentalists and Obama people shamefully hoped it would be. Apparently it isn’t enough that eleven men lost their lives. It must really suck for them when more suffering does not occur. It seems two points I can plainly see are true has thus far been validated: 1) The earth is not the fragile planet some hope is the case, and 2) Technology has advanced to the point that even with government intervention, more commonly known as “government interference”, the worst scenarios of any given disaster can be mitigated effectively. The left just hates that.

